An Aspie Love Note

The Wife is not a fan of Valentine’s Day, but I figure this is late enough to not count! Anyway, most married aspies I know have spouses with similar sensory issues or are also on the spectrum. I don’t. My wife is neurotypical, but she is anything but typical. When many of my traits, oddities, and quirks have driven others away, when others saw me as too much of a personal investment, she has been constantly there. She has been a safety net, a place of comfort, a haven of rest.

There are times that I know I’m not easy to be around, when my sensory issues get the better of me, when overstimulation threatens to shut me down. I know there are tons of people out there who would be easier to live with, who would come with simpler baggage, but she chose me. She has never given up on me, and I’m a better person because she’s in my life.

Soon, we’ll have our first daughter together, and I know the Wife will be as wonderful a mother to her as she has been a friend and soulmate to me. I’m very blessed to have her in my life. I hope she has a happy non-Valentine’s Day.

