New MacBook Pro

We just purchased a new MacBook Pro today! I don’t have any unboxing pictures, but I will post some comparison shots in a couple of days. In this post, take a look at the difference seven years makes. In the middle column resides the specifications and price of my PowerBook G3 back in 2000. The column on the right reflects my new MacBook Pro.

MBPCompare

I have to admit that I will miss the possibility of using both bays for batteries, but that’s a small price to pay. What I can’t get over is how different the prices are. Even if I had bought a top-of-the-line MBP, the price would have been $700 less! I wonder where laptop prices will be when it’s time to replace the MacBook Pro in a few years (hopefully fewer than seven).

Disclaimer: I did not pay full price for either machine. Also, my PowerBook G3 has been upgraded to 512 MB of memory and a 30 GB hard drive.

